Sen Tokugawa by New Line (Warning NSFW: +18)

Warning: This post contains +18 content, you have been warned.

Long time no see. November was the last time I popped my head in here and I notice the WordPress layout has changed quite a bit. Also looks like I’ve got a draft post waiting to be finished from the end of November. Let’s just say other tasks have had higher priority over the past 4 months or so, but it looks like I can dedicate some more time back to figure reviews. So first up on my roster is Sen Tokugawa in her trademark purple bikini from a company called New Line. Read on if you want to see more


1920 x 1280 || 1920 x 1080

Sen Tokugawa is one of the main heroines of the Samurai Girls franchise. She’s your typical “oujo-sama” personality found in many anime, along with a helping of tsundere – nothing overly exciting there. What made her an interesting character though was her interactions with the other female cast members. I believe it was episode 6 of the anime which featured Sen in her bikini as seen here with this figure. I seem to remember something involving a giant octopus in that episode too, so maybe it’s worth checking out again :P.

Some may remember in 2011 I bought 2 swimsuit Samurai Girls from AlphaMax and was very disappointed with how they turned out. However I still wanted a figure of Sen (and hopefully Jubei at some point) in my collection that didn’t suck. This is when I stumbled across New Lines’ rendition of Sen. I forget where I first saw her – I think it was in an issue of Hobby Japan – but I knew I’d have to get her.

Swimsuit figures are usually quite simplistic and this one is no real exception. You do however get an orange hoody and have the option to remove some of her swimsuit pieces. Sen stands about 24cm tall so is on a similar scale to Max Factorys’ swimsuit figure lines.

The hoody is a nice addition, but it really feels out of scale. The hood is massive, almost as big as the jacket itself, and the arms are tiny. You can tug on the 2 white strings to tighten the front of the hood – shame it’s not like a real item of clothing where you’d expect it to tighten around the neck. Getting the hoody on was a challenge at first – especially getting it round her right arm. To make it a bit easier you can remove her head, right arm and left hand – but it’s still a bit of a struggle.

Without the hoody she looks better in terms of scale. The puffy-ness of hoody hides her wonderful curves.

One minor point I’ve noticed about her pose is she looks as though she’s leaning backwards slightly. I’m never too sure if it’s just my viewing angle, I’ve placed her wrong on the base, or she really is just leaning backwards. One good thing about this though is she meets your gaze straight on instead of staring at the ground.

Her facial expression is also quite nice sporting a confident smile. Her eyes look a little vacant though. I think it’s the lack of dark pupils that give her that appearance. Up close the mouth painting looks a little sketchy – but she’s fine from any sensible viewing distance.

As previously mentioned – and hinted at by the +18 warning – you’re also able to remove pieces of Sens’ swimsuit. The golden chain running round her bikini bottom is one. The downside of removing this part is it leaves 2 visible holes in her thigh. Her bikini top is the second item you can remove. This is done by unclipping the back of her bikini top. Again there’s a downside to this, at least for my figure. There’s splodges of purple all around where her bikini makes contact with her skin.

One fun thing you can do is mix cast-off with hoody.

So overall I’m really pleased with this figure of Sen. For a start she’s miles better than the Alpha Max version I previously bought, but that’s not too hard to achieve. I really like the hoody she comes with. Yeah it’s a bit gimmicky but it adds a level of customisation to a fairly bland swimsuit figure. The cast-off is a nice option, but then the paint transfer kind of ruins it. I’ve currently got my Sen displayed with everything on. She’ll need it since we’re still getting snow in these parts :P.

Here’s some extra wallpaper sized images:


1920 x 1280 || 1920 x 1080


1920 x 1280 || 1920 x 1080

In terms of future content I really need to finish my draft post off. She’s a giant bunny girl that I really should share with everyone since I’ve not seen many reviews of her. I’ve then got 2 Wave Beach Queen’s to show off, and 1 more swimsuit figure in transit right now. I’ve decided to not post about the recent art books I received. I was planning to do this, but I just don’t have time. 2 Queen’s Blade artbooks and the 2012 edition of Push Illustration Museum is what I got. If anyone really wants to see them let me know and I’ll try make time for them.

Posted on 18/03/2013, in Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi ^-^

    Hmm, I would lie if I would say that I haven’t seen more detailed swim suit figures than Sen from New Line. Im sorry to say that I can’t really get used to her design and relatively simplified body sculpting, which seems most prominent at her legs.

    Well, but from cerain angles her face is quite charming, like in picture 72 and yeah the hoody is a pretty nice idea, putting doll clothes on figures can look very good.

    There is a planned Sen http://myfigurecollection.net/item/88163 from AmiAmi zero, which Im partially interested in, she would fit to my cute Jubei. It’s still a shame that the straps from her bikini top arent’t going back into place anymore, now Jubei has a doll bikini top hehe.

    Oh which bunnysuit figure have you ordered? Nanoha?

    • Hey ^^

      I know what you mean about the detail. She lacks shading which makes her skin look fairly flat. From the legs down there’s also very little going on, and her base is uninspired. Her swimsuit is just plain purple too which is rather boring. I think it’s a combination of the cast-off and hoody that piqued my interest.

      I’m not a huge fan of the AmiAmi zero Samurai Girls figures sadly. There’s just something about them that turns me away. They look quite different from their anime counterparts. But I will admit they have some nice poses.

      Ah, the bunny girl is from Sora no Otoshimono. :P

  2. Good to see you back for a bit. To be honest, this Sen figure doesn’t impress me, but then again, most swimsuit figures don’t. Her eyes do looks rather vacant. I have a couple figures like that too and they don’t have black pupils either.

    • I’ll have to agree with you – she’s by no means the most exciting swimsuit figure out there. But I do like her and the little extras you get make her a bit more customisable. I’m not sure what it is about figures without black or dark pupils. I’ve got a few and every one has a vacant look about them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

