Izumi by MegaHouse (Warning NSFW: +18)

Warning: This post contains +18 content, you have been warned.

Today I’m hopefully bringing a review of a figure who doesn’t seem to have gathered much attention. Izumi from Queen’s Blade Rebellion by MegaHouse. I’ve not really seen any reviews of Izumi floating around (not that I’ve looked that far mind you). Even the user photos section of MFC is quite bare. Maybe she’s just not that interesting, but hopefully you’ll take the time to check her out here :D.


1920 x 1280 || 1920 x 1080

Izumi was the final new character revealed for the Queen’s Blade Rebellion story line (well if we don’t include the Swamp Witch as a ‘new’ character), which may be the reason she’s not that popular. She also plays a support character role too so again limited screen time. In the Rebellion story she’s a ronin samurai from the land of Hinomoto (same place as Tomoe/Shizuka) who wields two weapons. The most obvious one is her nodachi (that giant sword), called Saodake. Her second weapon, and perhaps most useful, is her seashell warhorn which is used to boost her allies morale. She’s outwardly confident but has little combat experience to backup her claims.

In the Queen’s Blade Rebellion anime Izumi is introduced in episode 9 where Annelotte meets her helping protect a group of orphans trying to rebuild a village. She makes many bold claims of her strength, but when it comes down to battle she’s actually rather scared. The episode ends with her and Annelottes defeat at the hands of Aldra, although luckily they’re saved by Maria thanks to Izumis’ shouts for help. She then vows to stay at the village she’s protecting while Annelotte returns to her camp. This makes me wonder if we’ll get to see more of her in the future.

You’ll hopefully notice a likeness between Izumis’ character design and Nanael from the original Queen’s Blade. No surprises here, Izumi is designed by the same person – Yousai Kuuchuu. It’s just a shame she’s not getting as much screen time as Nanael did.

Just like all of the Queen’s Blade figures from MegaHouse Izumi is sculpted to 1/8 scale. She stands about 21cmm, but demands quite a bit of space due to her giant sword and scarf.

I love Izumis’ pose. There’s a sense of momentum in the way her scarf flaps wildly behind her. Her outstretched arm and risen leg look as though she’s believably balancing, stopping on the spot immediately to look over at something. The way she’s brandishing her sword over her head as if it’s a feather looks a little comical though. The hilt alone is bigger than her head.

Her colour scheme is quite basic – deep blue, red and yellow – you don’t get any more primary than that. There’s plenty of skin on show to break everything up nicely. Most of her armour seems concentrated around her chest – ideal for Queen’s Blade.

Her footwear is interesting. The patchwork of her zouri is nicely detailed with various fibers crossing over each other to create the sole. The red laces which wrap round her tabi are nicely done as well. The little ankle bracelets do well to make a clean distinction between the legs and feet.

Because there’s not a whole lot that makes up Izumis outfit there’s not much opportunity for fine details. On her armour up close the yellow crosses look a little sketchy, but from any sensible viewing distance they look fine. The red outlines are nice and neat though.

Yousai Kuuchuu must like leg bracelets. Nanael has one as does another one of my figures – Jumonji Tamaki. The way her skin envelopes the bracelet is very appealing, and the asymetry between her bare legs makes them a little more interesting to look at.

Izumi has a beautiful face. There’s a hint of innocent curiosity in her facial expression, especially the way she’s opening her mouth. There’s no murderous intent despite wielding an insanely large sword nonchalantly over her head. The blush marks add to her cuteness.

Izumis’ cast-off is painless and simple – mind you she’s not really wearing a whole lot in the first place. She must be cold :(. You can remove both her arms and head to get at her scarf and breast plate. Her shoulder pads just clip off, which unfortunately leave holes. Luckily they’re not obnoxiously large so you can forget about them for the most part.

I’m sure we’re all used to and know what to expect from Queen’s Blade cast-off now – and Izumi does not disappoint. My only complaint is during her cast-off it’s quite easy for the black of her breast plate to scratch her collar bones leaving black marks.

I actually prefer her with the scarf on, she looks too bare without it.

One thing I was a little worried about was the skin texture and facial sculpting of Izumi. From the promo shots her face looked very triangular and her skin looked chalky. I’m pleased to say that both of these are not present in the final release. There are no hard edges and her paint application is smooth.

Fundoshi lovers should be pleased with what Izumi has to offer ;).

You also get a second left arm option for Izumi. It’s intended to hold her seashell horn. The horn simply slides into her hand without resistance.

Oh noes, who’s that menacing green dude? Poor Izumi has been enslaved by an overweight gremlin in bondage. That’s what you get for feeding them after midnight *shakes finger*.

Dogura actually came with the Beautiful Fighter Senki Decisive Battle book, but I thought I’d throw a shot of him in here.

It’s been almost a year since my last Queen’s Blade figure and I’m glad Izumi has come along to break that silence. She’s a fantastic addition to any Queen’s Blade collection. Her pose is interesting, cast-off is well executed, and she looks really cute. I’m really glad I decided to pick her up. It’s such a shame she doesn’t seem to be that popular. Maybe it’s because of her limited screen time and relatively low presence in the Rebellion story. Or maybe people are just tiring of Queen’s Blade. What about you? Is Queen’s Blade still something you enjoy, or did you never like it in the first place?

There seems to be a third Queen’s Blade in the works – Grimoire. New characters, new setting – should be good. Heck there’s already a figure in the works of one of the characters! I wonder though if MegaHouse will complete the Rebellion line-up. We’re only missing two of the new Rebellion characters in figure form now – Eillin and Lyla. I just hope these two don’t turn out to be the Irma and Melpha of Rebellion.

Here’s some wallpaper resolution images to share:


1920 x 1080||1920 x 1280


1920 x 1080||1920 x 1280

Here are some portrait orientation shots of both cast-on and cast-off. I couldn’t decide which I preferred and alternating between the two looked odd.

First cast-on:

And cast-off:

If you’re curious what I’ve been up to since my last post it’s mostly been work which has kept me busy. I’m currently learning about colour accuracy and all the crazy spaces people have created. Any spare time I’ve used to catch up with other things, so I thought it was time to come back to blog land with a figure review. Had my first holiday of the year back at the end of August there which I used to play some Guild Wars 2. The first week was great, but once I realised how shallow the game mechanics were and some of the design decisions they made I just threw in the towel. It’s not the game for me sadly, but on the plus side I can use the time I would have used to do other things \o/.

I’ve got 2 artbooks sitting here – 1 which I hope to show you all. And I’ve got this giant bunny girl who needs opened and reviewed :P. I should have a steady stream of figures throughout the rest of this year so hopefully I’ll have some nice ones to show you all. Just got to find the time *fist shake*.

Posted on 23/09/2012, in Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Daww, she’s a real cutie. I wonder what had happened to take Queen’s Blade out of the limelight — it seems like people aren’t as crazy about them anymore. Instead, Sonico has been the poster girl of ecchi figures since everyone keeps making them. I seriously hope that wasn’t a major factor.

    Anyways, I really like the fact that her cast-off feature does not seem to compromise either the cast-on or cast-off appearances. My favourite part about the figure is how the sword seems way too large for her — her fingers barely wrap around the hilt, and she seems so clumsily lopsided while holding it. Izumi does great work, and I home Grimoire will see more of her art.

    Also, LOL at the horn — Queen’s Blade never has been subtle, as it?

    • I really like the cute character designs of Yousai Kuuchuu which makes Izumi an easy character for me to like. It’s unfortunate Queen’s Blade figures don’t have the same pull they once used to – or at least it seems that way. Mhhm, Sonico really has blown up in popularity – which isn’t necessarily a bad thing since she gets some nice figures. Ah well, I’m still looking forward to Grimoire.

      MegaHouse cast-off has really improved over the years – both in terms of aesthetics and practicality. I can still remember the insane paint transfer of Tomoe and Nyxx. The way Izumi holds her weapon is rather comical it definitely suits her personality.

      I don’t know what you mean. I don’t see any phallic objects. :P

  2. DAT ASS, she has such a great backside *bootylicious* ^^.
    She is quite cute as teenage samurai, she reminds me a bit of Azusa from K-on.

    Queens Blade is always welcome, I hope they complete Rebellion soon, since I enjoyed it a lot. Izumi a nicely sculpted figure with small perky boobs and I like her outfit a lot, the Fundoshi looks so sexy on her hips.

    I didn’t ordered her cause I wasn’t that pleased with the way her body and especially the head were twisted. Her face is still cute and pretty, but ovetall I didn’t found her convincing enough, otherwise I hadn’t hesitated at all. I would have really liked her like in the illustration you’ve shown here. Anyway the figure has a fair discount now ^^

    Oh Yeah I badly want a Lyla figure.

    • Oh you’re right, she does look a little like Azusa. It’s the facial features and bangs that look similar.

      I hope another season of the Rebellion anime gets announced soon. I believe the stories over at Hobby Channel have wrapped up now. I’m not too sure how much Izumi we’ll get to see though :(.

      Hmm I know what you mean about the way she’s twisting her head. The promo shots – in fact her box as well – make her neck look all contorted. Luckily seeing her out the box she looks perfectly fine, to me anyway. Her stomach can look a little off from some angles though.

      Yes I too would love a Lyla figure. Lyla is designed by Hirotaka Akaga who also designed Irma. It would be a shame if Lyla faces the same fate as Irma.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

